Thank you to those who submitted nominations for the 2018 OMA Awards Program. The nomination process for this year is now closed. Those selected to receive an OMA award will be notified no later than March 15, 2019.

OMA Visual Communication Awards and the Awards of Achievement recipients will be recognized at the 2019 Ohio Museums Association’s Annual Conference Awards Dinner, Sunday, April 14 at Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens in Akron.

Please see below for more information on next year's award program.

Ohio Museums Association Annual Awards Programs


Celebrating Excellence in Ohio’s Museum Community

The Ohio Museums Association Annual Awards Program proudly honors outstanding achievement and visual communication. The 2019 Ohio Museums Association Outstanding Achievement Award winners will be recognized at the 2020 Ohio Museums Association’s Annual Conference. Nominations and entries from the field are considered by a distinguished panel of judges, selected to represent the diversity of the museum community. Eligible institutions include:


Botanical Gardens

Historic Houses

Nature Centers


Ethnic Museums

Historic Parks


Anthropology Museums

General Museums

Historic Sites

Science/Technology Centers

Art Museums

Heritage Centers

Historical Societies

Children/Youth”s Museums

Art Centers and Galleries

History Museums

Natural History Museums


The OMA Awards Program is divided into two categories: the 
Visual Communication Awards and the Awards of Achievement.

OMA Awards Program

Visual Communication Awards

Visual Communication Awards Nomination
Visual Communication Awards Nomination
Nomination for the OMA Visual Communication Awards.

Click here to download an Award of Achievement nomination form - COMING SOON

(Information on the 2019 OMA Awards Program will be released later in 2019)

Visual Communication Awards

The Visual Communication Competition recognizes creative excellence in Ohio museums by its field professionals and organizations producing material for museums. Articles for submission can include, but are not limited to: Annual Reports, Audio-Visual/Electronic Media, Books, Brochures, Catalogs, Campaigns, Education Materials, Fundraising Materials, Institutional Identity, Invitations/Announcements, Newsletters/Magazines, Posters and Press Packs.

The 2019 entries must be published or distributed between January 1 and December 31, 2019.

Visual Communication Award winners will be recognized at the annual awards ceremony held in conjunction with the Ohio Museums Association's 2020 Annual Conference.

Deadline for submitting 2019 Visual Communication Award Entries: January 27, 2019 (all entries must be postmarked by this date).

The Visual Communication Competition is open to all organizations producing materials for Ohio museums. Entries will be judged on the overall design of the piece, the appropriateness of design to message, effectiveness of design to audience, and the function of the piece.

Entries in the 2019 Visual Communication Awards will be judged against all entries in their respective budget category. Gold and Silver awards will be made in each budget category where merited, with one entry receiving the overall, Best of Show Award.

Budget categories are based on each institution’s operating budget for the year, not on the budget used to create the individual pieces.

Budget Categories are as follows:

  • Level 1: budgets less than $50,000
  • Level 2: $50,000-$249,999
  • Level 3: $250,000-499,999
  • Level 4: $500,000-$999,999
  • Level 5: $1 million-$5 million
  • Level 6: budgets over $5 million

There is an entry fee of $25.00 per entry for members, $35.00 per entry for non-members. Fees can be paid by check, payable to The Ohio Museums Association, or with credit card using the options above.

There is no maximum number of entries each institution can submit. Two copies of each entry must be postmarked by the deadline. Materials become the property of OMA unless a stamped, self-addressed mailer is included with entry.

For information on how to become an OMA Member, click here  .

For questions about the Awards, contact Johnna McEntee at the OMA office: 614.297.2375,[email protected].

No content found

2017 Award Winners

The Ohio Museums Association would like to congratulate the 2017 winners of our Visual Communication and Award of Achievement program!

OMA Award Program winners were recognized at the annual awards ceremony held in conjunction with the Ohio Museums Association’s Annual Conference, April 15, 2018 at the Dayton Art Institute. See below for a complete list of the 2017 honorees! Click here for our full 2017 OMA Award Winner announcement.

2017 Award Winners

2017 OMA Award of Achievement Recipients

Best Exhibition (Under $500,000)

Bradford Ohio Railroad Museum—“Bradford Ohio Railroad Exhibits”

Best Exhibition (Over $500,000)

Massillon Museum— “Blind Spot: A Matter of Perception”

Best Community Partnership (Under $500,000)

Trumbull County Historical Society—“Historic Building Recognition Project”

Best Community Partnership (Over $500,000)

Ohio History Connection—“Bhutanese-Nepali Neighbors: Photographs by Tariq Tarey”

Emerging Professional of the Year

Meghan Elizabeth Reed—Trumbull County Historical Society

Professional of the Year

Chris Rowlands—Aullwood Audubon Center and Farm

Institution of the Year (Under $500,000)

Historic Zoar Village

Institution of the Year (Over $500,000)

COSI—Center of Science and Industry

No content found

Support OMA with your
tax-deductible donation!

A contribution to the Ohio Museums Association will help us continue to provide important programs and services to Ohio’s Museums.